• Home
  • Public consultation

Public consultation

Strengthening the Plan to Promote Greater Intergenerational Fairness

For over 50 years, the Québec Pension Plan has evolved along with Québec society by adapting to its socioeconomic and demographic environment. Québec workers can count on a solid plan.

Even though the Plan's current financial situation is sound, it should be strengthened for future generations. The Plan is constantly subject to various pressures and influenced by its environment. The following factors will create challenges for the Plan:

  • increasing life expectancy
  • a changing labour market, particularly labour availability and salaries
  • need to maintain stable funding.

The 2017 public consultation is based on 3 main principles:

  • intergenerational fairness
  • Plan sustainability through a stable contribution rate
  • workers' and businesses' ability to pay.

The Plan's future concerns everyone, contributors and beneficiaries in particular. The consultation addresses 2 main themes: enhancing the Québec Pension Plan and strengthening its sustainability, with controlling the contribution rate a necessary goal.

The Québec Pension Plan must be adapted to ensure a high-powered public plan for Quebeckers that will continue to meet their needs and respect intergenerational fairness. Organizations, groups and individuals were invited to participate in a shared discussion and to comment on the proposed improvements and measures to protect future generations of retirees and to strengthen the sustainability of the Plan.

Public hearings

The Committee on Public Finance This link will open in a new window. held special consultations and public hearings from 17 to 20 January 2017. More than 40 briefs This link will open in a new window. were tabled in the parliamentary committee.

Online questionnaire

Mr. Carlos J. Leitão, Minister of Finance and Minister responsible for Retraite Québec, invited the public to participate in an online questionnaire further to the public consultation. Over 4000 people completed the questionnaire, which was online from 24 April to 24 May 2017. The Minister wishes to express his gratitude for their participation.

  • Top of page

Consultation publique

Consolider le Régime de rentes du Québec pour renforcer l'équité intergénérationnelle

Depuis plus de 50 ans, le Régime de rentes du Québec a évolué au rythme de la société québécoise et a su s'adapter à son environnement socioéconomique et démographique. Les travailleuses et travailleurs québécois peuvent compter sur un régime solide.

Bien que la situation financière actuelle du Régime soit bonne, il convient de le consolider pour l'avenir. Le Régime est constamment soumis à différentes pressions et influencé par son environnement. Les défis auxquels le Régime devra faire face sont :

  • l'augmentation de l'espérance de vie
  • l'évolution du marché du travail, notamment la disponibilité de la main-d'œuvre et les salaires
  • le maintien d'un financement stable.

La consultation publique 2017 repose sur 3 grands principes :

  1. l'équité intergénérationnelle
  2. la pérennité du Régime par l'assurance d'un taux de cotisation stable
  3. la capacité de payer des travailleuses et travailleurs, ainsi que des entreprises.

L'avenir du Régime interpelle la population et, plus particulièrement, ses cotisants et ses bénéficiaires. De plus, 2 grands thèmes sont abordés dans la consultation, soit la bonification du Régime de rentes du Québec et le renforcement de sa pérennité, c'est-à-dire sa continuité, avec comme objectif de contrôler le taux de cotisation du Régime.

Pour laisser aux Québécoises et Québécois un régime public performant qui continuera de répondre à leurs besoins dans le respect de l'équité intergénérationnelle, le Régime de rentes du Québec doit être adapté. Les organismes, les groupes et les individus ont été invités à participer à une discussion collective et à se prononcer sur les améliorations proposées en faveur des prochaines générations de personnes retraitées ainsi que sur les mesures présentées pour renforcer la pérennité du Régime.

Auditions publiques

La Commission des finances publiques Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. a tenu des consultations particulières et des auditions publiques, qui se sont déroulées du 17 au 20 janvier 2017. Plus d'une quarantaine de mémoires Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. ont été déposés en commission parlementaire.

Consultation Web

Le ministre des Finances et ministre responsable de Retraite Québec, M. Carlos J. Leitão, a invité la population à participer à une consultation en ligne. Plus de 4 000 personnes ont répondu au questionnaire Web, qui a été mis en ligne du 24 avril au 24 mai 2017. Le ministre tient d'ailleurs à les remercier.

  • Haut de la page