• Français

The PPMP at a Glance

May 2022
The PPMP at a Glance - A newsletter for members and retirees of the Pansion Plan of Management Personnel (PPMP)

A return of 12.9% for the PPMP members' fund in 2021

The PPMP members' fund generated a return of 12.9% in 2021.This fund is invested with the Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec (CDPQ), in various asset categories.

In 2021, growth assets generated high returns. The Private equity portfolio, the Public equity portfolio, the Real estate portfolio and the Infrastructure portfolio generated returns of 39.2%, 16.2%, 14.5% and 12.4%, respectively.Returns on fixed-income investments were negative, that is -0.2%, due to the rise in interest rates.

Table 1 shows the annual returns of the PPMP members' fund since 2012. Over a ten-year period, which ended on 31 December 2021, this fund generated an average annual return of 9.4%.

Table 1

Returns from 2012 to 2021 (percentage)

Returns from 2012 to 2021 in percentage 

Table 2 shows the evolution of the value of the PPMP members' fund over the last 10 years. Please note that the significant decrease in the value of the members' fund in 2017 can be explained by the coming into effect of the Act to foster the financial health and sustainability of the Pension Plan of Management Personnel and to amend various legislative provisions. Under the Act, the government is responsible for all benefits payable to beneficiaries who retired before 1 January 2015. However, an amount of $5.1 billion (the portion of the assets regarding commitments to the beneficiaries) was transferred to the government in 2017, from the members' fund.

Table 2

Evolution of the value of the PPMP members' fund with the CDPQ (billions of dollars)

Evolution of the value of the PPMP members' fund with the CDPQ in billions of dollars 


A large number of retirees under the PPMP returning to work in 2020 and 2021

Retraite Québec registered a significant increase in the number of retirees under the PPMP returning to work. From 2019 to 2020, an increase of 645% was noted. The increase continued on a lower level in 2021 (55%) and we noted an increase of 61% between 2021 and the first two months of 2022.

In 2021, the returns to work were mostly in the health and social services sector (66%), in the education sector (25%) and in the public service sector (9%).

64% of retirees under the PPMP returned to work in a position subject to RREGOP, compared to 36% in a position subject to the PPMP.

More specifically, for the health and social services sector, 72% of the returns to work were in a position covered by RREGOP and 28% in a position covered by the PPMP. Regarding the education sector, the proportion is different, that is, 58% in a position covered by RREGOP and 42% in a position covered by the PPMP.

Number of returns to work in 2020 and 2021 based on the sectors
 20202021
Health and social services460652
Education123250
Public service3692
Yearly totals 619 994

Monthly breakdown of returns to work of retirees under the PPMP in 2021 based on the sectors

Monthly breakdown of returns to work of retirees under the PPMP in 2021 based on the sectors 

Several factors may explain this significant increase in returns to work. For retirees under the PPMP, they have two choices when returning to work in a position covered by the PPMP, RREGOP or the PPPOCS:

  • They can start contributing to the PPMP. This choice entails the suspension in full of the payment of their pension, which will become payable again when the employment ties end or on 30 December of the year during which the retiree turns 71. This pension will be enhanced to take into account the additional service that will have been accumulated during the return to work.

  • They can choose not to contribute. The repercussions of this choice have evolved in recent years.

    Before March 2020, the pension was reduced in proportion to the service that would have been credited had they chosen to contribute.

    On 1 March 2020, new conditions easing the effect of a return to work on the retirement pension were introduced. For the retirees under the PPMP returning to work in a position covered by the PPMP, the retirement pension is paid in full until the day on which the salary paid exceeds the threshold See the Note 1 established by the plan. After reaching this threshold, the pension is reduced in proportion to the service that would have been credited if the retiree had chosen to contribute. For the retirees returning to work in a position covered by RREGOP, the pension continues to be paid as if they had not returned to work. See the Note 2

    These new conditions took effect at the same time as the start of the COVID-19 pandemic. Due to the state of the public health emergency, which was declared by the Gouvernement du Québec regarding this pandemic, two ministerial orders were issued in 2020 in order to exclude from the calculation of reaching the threshold, the salaries paid for certain positions related to the fight against the pandemic in the health and social services and education sectors, more specifically in the sector of school service centres, school boards and private institutions at the preschool, primary and secondary levels. The orders are only applicable for the duration of this state of health emergency.

    Retraite Québec assesses that these two ministerial orders have had an effect on the returns to work in the health and social services sector, but very little effect on the education sector.

Percentage of the returns to work in a position covered by the ministerial orders between March 2020 and December 2021
Sector%
Health and social services21%
Education2%

Also on the subject of returns to work, please consult The PPMP at a Glance from October 2020 and May 2021.


  1. The threshold is calculated as follows: the basic annual salary at the time employment ends and indexed annually since the end of the employment MINUS the amount of the annual retirement pension not integrated with the Québec Pension Plan. Back to reference
  2. Conditions also apply if the retiree returns to work in a position covered by the PPPOCS. Back to reference

A new actuarial valuation is in preparation

Retraite Québec's actuaries are preparing a new actuarial valuation of the PPMP based on data as at 31 December 2020. Under the Act respecting the Pension Planof Management Personnel, a valuation must be prepared every three years.

Between two valuations, actuaries present updates, as was the case in June 2020 and June 2021. The purpose of these updates is to determine the existence of a surplus or a deficit for the portion of the benefits paid by the members.

The new valuation will be presented to the pension committee in the fall of 2022. It will be used to determine the members' contribution rate for 2023 to 2025.


Amendments were made with regard to the provisions of the PPMP

On 15 June 2021, amendments were made to the Regulation under the Act respecting the Pension Plan of Management Personnel.

The amendments concern the persons in the qualification period for the PPMP that hold both a position covered by the PPMP and a temporary, non-unionized position.

Requirements for all the provisions of the PPMP to apply to the position held temporarily

A person who holds both a position covered by the PPMP and a temporary, non-unionized position is now a member of the PPMP if he or she holds the position to:

  • fill a vacant position on a provisional or interim basis; or
  • replace, during his or her absence, a person covered by the PPMP.

The provisions of the PPMP, including membership and qualification rules, are therefore applicable to the position held  temporarily.

If all the requirements listed above are met, the employer with which the position is temporarily held must send Retraite Québec the Validation de la participation au Régime de retraite du personnel d'encadrement This link will open in a new window. (RRPE) (French only) form.


Your amounts, your documents, following up on your requests and more in My Account

By logging into My Account, your digital workspace with Retraite Québec, you will find everything at the same place, no matter the time and place. You will find information, documents and services to make the steps to take easier regarding your membership or your benefits under the Pension Plan of Management Personnel (PPMP) or under other public-sector pension plans, as well as those regarding the Québec Pension Plan (QPP) and Family Allowance.

Are you still participating in your pension plan?

You can consult and download your 2020 Statement of Participation in the PPMP in My Account at all times. Produced each year, the Statement is an essential reference for knowing your rights and benefits related to your contributions and to help you financially plan your retirement.

There you will find:

  • your number of years of credited service as well as the amount of your contributions and accrued interest;
  • personalized retirement scenarios that are based on your age when you retire;
  • your rights and benefits related to your contributions, such as the number of days of absence that you can buy back and the benefits to which you and your family could be entitled.

Your Statement of Participation is sent to you based on your written communication preferences in your file, that is:

  • entirely digitally, with notifications informing you that a document was uploaded to My Account;
  • by mail, with or without notifications informing you that a document was uploaded to My Account.

For people under the age of 48 who participate in the PPMP, the Statement will only be available digitally in My Account.

The latest information

In addition to accessing your Statement of Participation, your income tax slips (if you are the beneficiary of a pension) and many other documents sent by Retraite Québec, you can now follow the progress of your application for a retirement pension under the PPMP or your application for a pension estimate. Furthermore, thanks to notifications, you will receive an email or a text message informing you of the different processing steps for your application or when a document is uploaded to your file.

At Retraite Québec, the 100% digital option exists! You must log in to My Account and choose to only receive your documents digitally in My Account instead of by mail and to sign up for notifications.


Members of the PPEMO pension committee

Mr. Bernard TanguayIndependent member, president of the pension committee
Ms. France Breton Ministère des Finances
Ms. Anne-Marie Chiquette APER Santé et Services sociaux
Ms. Nadyne Daigle Regroupement des associations de cadres en matière d'assurance et de retraite
Ms. Carole Doré Association des cadres supérieurs de la santé et des services sociaux
Ms. Martine Doré Alliance des cadres de l'État
Mr. Benoit Dufresne Secrétariat du Conseil du trésor
Mr. Mathieu Ferland-Lapointe Secrétariat du Conseil du trésor
Mr. Sylvain Gallagher Association des cadres des collèges du Québec
Ms. Isabelle Garneau Secrétariat du Conseil du trésor
Ms. Maryse Gauthier-Gagnon Secrétariat du Conseil du trésor
Ms. Marie-Christine Gingras Ministère de l'Éducation
Mr. François LabbéPlan beneficiary
Ms. Chantal Marchand Association des gestionnaires des établissements de santé et de services sociaux
Ms. Geneviève Pelletier Coalition de l'encadrement en matière de retraite et d'assurance
Mr. Guillaume Picard Ministère de l'Enseignement supérieur
Ms. Katia Roy Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux

Contact us

retraitequebec.gouv.qc.ca

By telephone:
Québec region: 418 643-4881
Toll-free: 1 800 463-5533

By mail:
Retraite Québec
Régimes de retraite du secteur public
Case postale 5500, succursale Terminus
Québec (Québec)  G1K 0G9

• English

Coup d'œil RRPE

Mai 2022
Coup d'oeil RRPE - Le bulletin d'information des particuliers et retraités du Régime de retraite du personnel d'encadrement (RRPE)

Un rendement de 12,9 % pour la caisse des participants et participantes au RRPE en 2021

La caisse des participants et participantes au RRPE a réalisé un rendement de 12,9 % en 2021. Les fonds de cette caisse sont investis à la Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec (CDPQ) dans différentes catégories d'actifs.

En 2021, les actifs de croissance ont généré des rendements élevés. En effet, les portefeuilles Placements privés, Marchés boursiers, Infrastructures et Immeubles ont réalisé des rendements respectifs de 39,2 %, de 16,2 %, de 14,5 % et de 12,4 %. Quant aux placements à revenu fixe, ils ont affiché un rendement négatif, soit -0,2 %, en raison de la hausse des taux d'intérêt.

Le tableau 1 présente les rendements annuels de la caisse des participants et participantes au RRPE depuis 2012. Sur la période de 10 ans se terminant le 31 décembre 2021, cette caisse a obtenu un rendement annuel moyen de 9,4 %.

Tableau 1

Évolution du rendement de 2012 à 2021 (en pourcentage)

Évolution du rendement de 2012 à 2021 en pourcentage 

Le tableau 2 présente l'évolution de la valeur de la caisse des participants et participantes au RRPE au cours des 10 dernières années. Rappelons que la diminution importante de la valeur de la caisse des participants et participantes observée en 2017 s'explique par l'entrée en vigueur de la Loi favorisant la santé financière et la pérennité du régime de retraite du personnel d'encadrement et modifiant diverses dispositions législatives. Cette loi prévoit que le gouvernement prend en charge la totalité des prestations payables aux bénéficiaires qui ont pris leur retraite avant le 1er janvier 2015. En contrepartie, une somme de 5,1 milliards de dollars (la portion de l'actif relative aux engagements envers ces bénéficiaires) a été transférée au gouvernement en 2017, à partir de la caisse des participants et participantes.

Tableau 2

Évolution de la valeur de la caisse des participants et participantes au RRPE à la CDPQ (en milliards de dollars)

Évolution de la valeur de la caisse des participants et participantes au RRPE à la CDPQ en milliards de dollars 


Un grand nombre de retours au travail de retraités du RRPE au cours des années 2020 et 2021

Retraite Québec a enregistré une augmentation considérable du nombre de retours au travail de personnes retraitées prestataires du RRPE. De 2019 à 2020, une hausse de 645 % a été signalée. La hausse s'est poursuivie à un niveau moindre en 2021 (55 %). Une augmentation de 61 % entre 2021 et les deux premiers mois de 2022 a également été notée.

En 2021, les retours au travail se sont effectués majoritairement dans le réseau de la santé et des services sociaux (66 %), et dans une moindre mesure dans celui de l'éducation (25 %) et dans la fonction publique (9 %).

Les personnes retraitées prestataires du RRPE ont fait leur retour au travail à 64 % dans une fonction assujettie au RREGOP, comparativement à 36 % dans une fonction assujettie au RRPE.

Plus précisément, en ce qui concerne le réseau de la santé et des services sociaux, 72 % des retours au travail se sont faits dans une fonction visée par le RREGOP et 28 % dans une fonction visée par le RRPE. Quant aux retours au travail dans le réseau de l'éducation, les proportions sont différentes, soit 58 % dans une fonction visée par le RREGOP et 42 % dans une fonction visée par le RRPE.

Nombre de retours au travail en 2020 et en 2021 selon les réseaux
 20202021
Santé et services sociaux460652
Éducation123250
Fonction publique3692
Total annuel 619 994

Répartition mensuelle des retours au travail des personnes retraitées prestataires du RRPE en 2021, selon les réseaux

Répartition mensuelle des retours au travail des personnes retraitées prestataires du RRPE en 2021, selon les réseaux 

Plusieurs facteurs peuvent expliquer cette hausse significative des retours au travail. Deux choix s'offrent aux personnes retraitées prestataires du RRPE lorsqu'elles effectuent un retour au travail dans une fonction visée par le RRPE, le RREGOP ou le RRAPSC :

  • Elles peuvent recommencer à cotiser au RRPE. Ce choix entraîne la suspension complète de leur rente, qui redeviendra payable lorsque le lien d'emploi sera rompu, ou au plus tard le 30 décembre de l'année de leurs 71 ans. Cette rente sera bonifiée pour tenir compte du service additionnel qui aura été accumulé pendant le retour au travail.
  • Elles peuvent choisir de ne pas cotiser. Les répercussions de ce choix ont évolué dans les dernières années.

    Avant mars 2020, la rente était réduite en proportion du service qui aurait été crédité si elles avaient choisi de cotiser.

    Le 1er mars 2020, de nouvelles modalités assouplissant l'effet d'un retour au travail sur la rente de retraite ont été introduites. Pour les personnes retraitées prestataires du RRPE effectuant un retour au travail dans une fonction visée par le RRPE, la rente de retraite est versée en totalité jusqu'au jour où le salaire qui est versé dépasse le seuil Voir la Note 1 établi par le régime. Après l'atteinte de ce seuil, la rente est réduite en proportion du service qui aurait été crédité si la personne retraitée avait choisi de cotiser. Pour celles effectuant un retour au travail dans une fonction visée par le RREGOP, la rente de retraite continue d'être versée comme s'il n'y avait pas de retour au travail. Voir la Note 2

    Ces nouvelles modalités ont pris effet pendant la période au cours de laquelle la pandémie de COVID-19 a débuté. Dans le contexte de l'état d'urgence sanitaire déclaré par le gouvernement du Québec en lien avec cette pandémie, deux arrêtés ministériels ont été pris en 2020 afin d'exclure du calcul relatif à l'atteinte du seuil les salaires versés pour l'exercice de certaines fonctions liées à la lutte contre la pandémie dans le réseau de la santé et des services sociaux et dans le réseau de l'éducation, plus précisément dans le secteur des centres de services scolaires, des commissions scolaires et des établissements privés des niveaux préscolaire, primaire et secondaire. Ces arrêtés sont applicables uniquement pendant la durée de cet état d'urgence sanitaire.

    Retraite Québec considère que ces deux arrêtés ministériels ont eu un effet notable sur les retours au travail dans le réseau de la santé et des services sociaux, mais que leur effet a été très peu marqué dans le réseau de l'éducation.

Pourcentage des retours au travail dans une fonction visée par des arrêtés ministériels entre mars 2020 et décembre 2021
Réseau%
Santé et services sociaux21 %
Éducation2 %

Pour plus d'information au sujet des retours au travail, veuillez consulter les bulletins Coup d'œil RRPE d'octobre 2020 et de mai 2021.


  1. Le seuil se calcule de la façon suivante : le salaire annuel de base au moment de la fin d'emploi, indexé annuellement depuis cette fin d'emploi, MOINS le montant de la rente de retraite annuelle non coordonnée avec le Régime de rentes du Québec. Retour à la référence
  2. Des modalités s'appliquent également si la personne retraitée revient au travail dans une fonction visée par le RRAPSC. Retour à la référence

Une nouvelle évaluation actuarielle est en préparation

Les actuaires de Retraite Québec préparent une nouvelle évaluation actuarielle du RRPE sur la base des données au 31 décembre 2020. En vertu de la loi sur le régime de retraite, une évaluation doit être préparée tous les trois ans.

Entre deux évaluations, les actuaires présentent des mises à jour, comme cela a été le cas en juin 2020 et en juin 2021. Ces mises à jour ont pour but de déterminer l'existence d'un surplus ou d'un déficit relatif à la portion des prestations à la charge des participants et des participantes.

La nouvelle évaluation sera présentée au comité de retraite à l'automne 2022; elle servira à déterminer le taux de cotisation des participants pour les années 2023 à 2025.


Des changements ont été apportés à certaines dispositions du RRPE

Le 15 juin 2021, des modifications du Règlement d'application de la Loi sur le régime de retraite du personnel d'encadrement ont été édictées.

Les modifications concernent les personnes dont la période de qualification au RRPE est en cours et qui occupent simultanément une fonction visée par le RRPE et un emploi non syndicable de façon temporaire.

Conditions requises pour que l'ensemble des dispositions du RRPE s'appliquent à l'emploi occupé de façon temporaire

La personne qui occupe simultanément une fonction visée par le RRPE et un emploi non syndicable de façon temporaire participe désormais au RRPE, si elle occupe cet emploi afin de :

  • pourvoir un poste vacant de façon provisoire ou intérimaire;
  • remplacer, au cours de son absence, une personne visée par le RRPE.

Les dispositions du RRPE, y compris les règles de participation et de qualification, sont donc applicables à l'emploi occupé de façon temporaire.

Si toutes les conditions énumérées ci-dessus sont remplies, l'employeur chez lequel la personne occupe un emploi de façon temporaire doit transmettre à Retraite Québec le formulaire Validation de la participation au Régime de retraite du personnel d'encadrement Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre..

Vos montants, vos documents, vos suivis de demandes, et plus encore dans Mon dossier

En vous connectant à Mon dossier, votre espace numérique à Retraite Québec, vous trouverez tout au même endroit, peu importe le moment et le lieu. Vous disposerez d'informations, de documents et de services pour faciliter vos démarches concernant le RRPE ou d'autres régimes du secteur public, le Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ) ou encore l'Allocation famille (AF), que celles-ci soient en lien avec votre participation ou vos prestations.

Vous participez toujours à votre régime de retraite?

Vous pouvez consulter et télécharger votre relevé de participation au RRPE 2020 dans Mon dossier en tout temps. Produit annuellement, ce relevé est une référence incontournable pour vous aider à planifier financièrement votre retraite.

Vous y trouverez notamment :

  • votre nombre d'années de service ainsi que le montant de vos cotisations et intérêts accumulés;
  • des scénarios de rentes personnalisés selon votre âge à la date de votre départ à la retraite;
  • vos droits et avantages liés à vos cotisations, tels que votre nombre de jours d'absence rachetables et les prestations auxquelles vos proches et vous pourriez avoir droit.

Votre relevé de participation vous est transmis selon vos préférences en matière de communication inscrites à votre dossier, soit :

  • entièrement de façon numérique, avec une notification vous avisant du dépôt de votre document dans Mon dossier;
  • par la poste, avec ou sans notification vous avisant du dépôt de votre document dans Mon dossier.

Pour les personnes de moins de 48 ans qui participent au RRPE, le relevé est disponible uniquement en format numérique dans Mon dossier.

Des nouveautés!

En plus de pouvoir accéder à votre relevé de participation, à vos relevés d'impôt (si vous êtes prestataire d'une rente) et à bien d'autres documents transmis par Retraite Québec, vous pouvez maintenant suivre l'état d'avancement de votre demande de rente de retraite du RRPE ou d'une demande d'estimation de la rente. De plus, grâce aux notifications, vous recevez un courriel ou un texto lors de différentes étapes du cheminement de vos demandes ou lors du dépôt d'un document dans votre dossier.

À Retraite Québec, l'option 100 % numérique, ça existe! Il suffit de vous connecter à Mon dossier, de choisir de recevoir vos documents uniquement dans Mon dossier plutôt que par la poste, et de vous inscrire aux notifications.


Les membres du comité de retraite

M. Bernard TanguayMembre indépendant, président du comité de retraite
Mme France BretonMinistère des Finances
Mme Anne-Marie ChiquetteAPER Santé et Services sociaux
Mme Nadyne DaigleRegroupement des associations de cadres en matière d'assurance et de retraite
Mme Carole DoréAssociation des cadres supérieurs de la santé et des services sociaux
Mme Martine DoréAlliance des cadres de l'État
M. Benoit DufresneSecrétariat du Conseil du trésor
M. Mathieu Ferland-LapointeSecrétariat du Conseil du trésor
M. Sylvain GallagherAssociation des cadres des collèges du Québec
Mme Isabelle GarneauSecrétariat du Conseil du trésor
Mme Maryse Gauthier-GagnonSecrétariat du Conseil du trésor
Mme Marie-Christine GingrasMinistère de l'Éducation
M. François LabbéPensionné du régime
Mme Chantal MarchandAssociation des gestionnaires des établissements de santé et de services sociaux
Mme Geneviève PelletierCoalition de l'encadrement en matière de retraite et d'assurance
M. Guillaume PicardMinistère de l'Enseignement supérieur
Mme Katia RoyMinistère de la Santé et des Services sociaux

Pour joindre Retraite Québec

www.retraitequebec.gouv.qc.ca

Par téléphone :
Région de Québec : 418 643-4881
Sans frais : 1 800 463-5533
Par télécopieur : 418 644-8659

Par la poste :
Retraite Québec
Régimes de retraite du secteur public
Case postale 5500, succursale Terminus
Québec (Québec)  G1K 0G9