The Liquidator of the Estate

If a member of your family were to die, he or she may have designated you as the estate liquidator in his or her will. He or she may also not have designated an estate liquidator, in which case the heirs must agree upon an individual to be designated to carry out that role.

Responsibilities

If you are an estate liquidator, you are in charge of ensuring the orderly settlement of the estate and you have various responsibilities. For example, you will be required to find the deceased's last will, collect official documents, notify financial institutions of the death, take inventory of the deceased's assets, pay the estate's debts, recover amounts owing, etc.

For a better understanding of the procedures and to find out where to begin, consult the First steps to be taken in the event of a death section of our website.

Retraite Québec pensions and death benefits

In the event of death, Retraite Québec offers pensions and benefits. If the deceased made sufficient contributions to the Québec Pension Plan, the deceased's family could be entitled to survivors' benefits. When you liquidate an estate, you must settle a number of matters, including several formalities involving Retraite Québec. Several questions will arise. Did the deceased work? Several questions will arise. Did the deceased work? Did he or she have a pension plan offered in the workplace? Did he or she have any minor children? The steps to be taken will vary according to your answers to those questions.

For more information on the steps to be taken and the eligibility requirements, consult our Pensions and death benefits section.

Other useful links

  • Consult a notary This link will open in a new window. for assistance in settling an estate.
  • The Wills and Estates This link will open in a new window. section on the Éducaloi website provides a wealth of useful information on how to settle an estate.
  • Top of page

Le liquidateur ou la liquidatrice de la succession

Lors du décès d'un proche, il est possible que cette personne vous ait désigné comme liquidateur ou liquidatrice de sa succession dans son testament. Il est également possible que la personne décédée n'ait pas fait de désignation. Dans ce cas, ce sont ses héritiers qui doivent s'entendre pour désigner une personne qui remplira ce rôle.

Responsabilités

Si vous êtes liquidateur ou liquidatrice d'une succession, vous êtes la personne chargée d'assurer le bon déroulement du règlement de la succession et vos responsabilités sont variées. Par exemple, vous aurez à rechercher le dernier testament de la personne décédée, obtenir des documents officiels, informer des établissements financiers du décès de la personne, faire l'inventaire de ses biens, payer les dettes de la succession, recouvrer les sommes dues, etc.

Pour bien vous y retrouver et savoir par où commencer, consultez notre section Premières démarches en cas de décès.

Les rentes et les prestations de décès de Retraite Québec

Retraite Québec offre des rentes et des prestations en cas de décès. Si la personne décédée avait suffisamment cotisé au Régime de rentes du Québec, ses proches pourraient être admissibles à des prestations de survivants. Lorsque vous liquidez la succession, vous devez remplir plusieurs formalités, notamment auprès de Retraite Québec. Plusieurs questions se poseront. La personne décédée a-t-elle déjà travaillé? Avait-elle un régime de retraite offert en milieu de travail? Avait-elle des enfants mineurs? Les démarches varieront selon les réponses que vous fournirez à ces questions.

Consultez la section Rentes et des prestations pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les démarches et les conditions d'admissibilité.

Autres liens utiles

  • La section Que faire lors d'un décès Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. du portail du gouvernement du Québec vous indique les démarches à effectuer en cas de décès d'un ou d'une proche.
  • Consultez un notaire Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. pour obtenir de l'aide lors du règlement d'une succession.
  • La section Décès et succession Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. de Éducaloi fournit plusieurs informations utiles sur le règlement d'une succession.
  • Haut de la page