Youtube facebook twitter PinterestLinkedin Instagram
  • Home
  • Death
  • How your pension plan protects your assets

How your pension plan protects you assets

Your membership in one or more pension plans could allow your spouse, children or heirs to receive benefits following your death.

Where to start?

The Statements of Participation and the Statements of Benefits generally show an estimate of the amounts to which your family could be entitled following your death. Keep those documents in a safe place; they will be useful at the time of your death.

Gather the required statements based on the situations that apply to you.

Ask for your Statement of Participation under the Québec Pension

If you are working or have worked in Québec and your annual income is or was greater than $3500, you are contributing or have contributed to the Québec Pension Plan. The compulsory public insurance plan provides your family with basic financial protection in the event of death.

To find out the estimated surviving spouse's pension amount under the Québec Pension Plan and the amount of other benefits to which your family could be entitled when you die, consult your Statement of Participation.

Two ways to obtain your Statement of Participation

View it online

 

You must have a clicSÉQUR account or create one when you start the service.

Apply online

 

You will receive it by mail within 15 working days.

Ask for your Statement of Participation under your public-sector pension plan (ex.: RREGOP, PPMP, etc.)

There are two documents that can provide you with information on your participation data under your public-sector pension plan: your Statement of Contributions and your Statement of Participation.

Two documents to better plan
Statement of ContributionsStatement of Participation

The document gives the total participation data under your pension plan, data that we receive each year from your employer(s).

It provides detailed information about membership in a pension plan as at 31 December of a given year and presents an estimate of your retirement pension and the death benefits that could be paid to your family.

You can file an application using the Application for Statement of Contributions This link will open in a new window. or by calling us.

Statements of Participation are sent by mail on different dates according to the plan or sector.

Ask for your Statement of Benefits under your supplemental pension plan.

Every year, your plan administrator is required to send you a statement. Please consult the statement and any other document pertaining to your plan to find out the applicable provisions in the event of death. You can also reach out to a contact person for your plan for more information.

To find out who to contact, consult the list of Pension Plans supervised by Retraite Québec.

Ask your financial institution to send you your statements

If you hold a locked-in retirement account (LIRA) or a life income fund (LIF), please consult the documents pertaining thereto and, if necessary, contact your financial institution to find out the amounts accrued therein and the applicable provisions in the event of death.

Important

By law, priority is given to the spouse regarding payment of the amounts payable following a death, regardless of the testamentary provisions, where applicable. However, if the spouse waives the benefit that could be paid to him or her, a benefit could be paid to another person, under certain conditions.

For further information on the spousal waiver

If you have benefits accrued under a public-sector pension plan

Regardless of the provisions in your will, if you have benefits accrued under a public-sector pension plan, the amounts payable following your death will automatically go to your recognized spouse, unless he or she has waived them. More specifically, this means that the person may, before your death, waive the survivor's benefits to which he or she would be entitled, if the plan provisions allow it.

The waiver allows the heirs to receive survivors' benefits to which they would be entitled if there is no spouse. Please note that the spouse who waived his or her benefits can revoke his or her waiver at any time before the person's death. He or she must notify Retraite Québec in writing of his or her decision.

If you do not have a spouse, the benefits payable after your death will go to the heirs designated in your will. If you did not make a will, your estate, including the benefits accrued under your pension plan, will be transferred to your heirs in accordance with the provisions of the Civil Code of Québec.

Consult the Notice of Waiver form for additional information about the benefits and plans concerned.

If you have benefits accrued under a supplemental pension plan

Generally, a death benefit is paid in priority to the spouse of the deceased, unless he or she has waived it. More specifically, this means that the person may, before your death, waive the survivor's benefits to which he or she would be entitled.

Consult the page pertaining to spousal waiver for additional information.

If you have money in an LIRA or an LIF

When you die, the balance of your LIRA or LIF will be paid in priority to your recognized spouse, unless he or she has waived it. Your spouse can waive at any time his or her rights to receive the balance of your LIRA or LIF, before that amount is paid to him or her. He or she must provide the financial institution with a written notice on the matter. In that case, the balance of the LIRA or LIF will be paid to the successors (ex.: heirs).

Your spouse can also revoke his or her waiver by sending the financial institution a written notice mentioning his or her wish, but only before your death.

Please note that testamentary provisions that contravene regulatory provisions governing LIRAs and LIFs are null and void. The regulation concerned is the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans.

If you do not have a spouse, the balance of your LIRA or LIF will go to the successors (ex.: heirs) designated in your will. If you did not make a will, your estate, including the benefits accrued under your pension plan, will be transferred to your heirs within the meaning of the Act.

Consult the page pertaining to LIRAs and LIFs for additional information.

What are the first steps to take in the event of death?

Following the death of a family member, it is important to notify Retraite Québec as soon as possible. Consult our Action to take in the event of death section for further information.

Other useful links

  • Top of page

Protections offertes par vos régimes de retraite

Votre participation à un ou à plusieurs régimes de retraite pourrait permettre à votre conjoint ou conjointe, à vos enfants ou à vos héritiers de recevoir des prestations à la suite de votre décès.

Par où commencer?

Les relevés de participation et les relevés de droits présentent généralement une estimation des sommes auxquelles vos proches pourraient avoir droit à la suite de votre décès. Conservez ces documents à un endroit précis; ils seront utiles au moment de votre décès.

Rassemblez les relevés requis en fonction des situations qui correspondent à la vôtre.

Demandez votre relevé de participation au Régime de rentes du Québec

Si vous travaillez ou avez travaillé au Québec et que vos revenus annuels dépassent ou ont dépassé 3 500 $, vous cotisez ou avez cotisé au Régime de rentes du Québec. Ce régime d'assurance public et obligatoire offre, notamment, une protection financière de base à vos proches en cas de décès.

Pour connaître l'estimation du montant de la rente de conjoint survivant du Régime de rentes du Québec et de celui des autres prestations auxquelles vos proches pourraient avoir droit à votre décès, consultez votre relevé de participation.

Deux façons d'obtenir votre relevé de participation

Consultez-le à l'écran

 

Vous devez détenir un compte clicSÉQUR ou en créer un au démarrage du service.

Demandez-le par Internet

 

Vous le recevrez par la poste dans un délai de 15 jours ouvrables.

Demandez votre relevé de participation à votre régime de retraite du secteur public (ex. : RREGOP, RRPE, etc.)

Il y a deux documents qui peuvent vous renseigner au sujet de vos données de participation à votre régime de retraite du secteur public : votre état de participation et votre relevé de participation.

Deux documents pour mieux planifier
État de participationRelevé de participation

Il présente le cumul des données de participation à votre régime de retraite qui nous proviennent annuellement de votre ou vos employeurs.

Il détaille la participation à un régime de retraite en date du 31 décembre d'une année donnée et présente une estimation de votre rente de retraite et des prestations de décès qui pourraient être versées à vos proches.

Vous pouvez en faire la demande en utilisant le formulaire Demande d'état de participation Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. ou en nous téléphonant.

Les relevés de participations sont transmis par la poste à des dates différentes selon le régime ou le secteur.

Demandez votre relevé de droits de votre régime complémentaire de retraite

Tous les ans, l'administrateur de votre régime a l'obligation de vous envoyer un relevé. Nous vous invitons à consulter ce relevé ainsi que tout autre document relatif à votre régime pour connaître les dispositions applicables à votre décès. Vous pouvez aussi communiquer avec une personne-ressource de votre régime pour plus d'information.

Pour savoir à qui vous adresser, consultez la liste des régimes supervisés par Retraite Québec.

Demandez vos relevés auprès de votre établissement financier

Si vous détenez un compte de retraite immobilisé (CRI) ou un fonds de revenu viager (FRV), nous vous invitons à consulter les documents relatifs à celui-ci, et à communiquer au besoin avec votre établissement financier pour connaître les sommes qui y sont accumulées et les dispositions applicables en cas de décès.

Important

La loi accorde la priorité à la conjointe ou au conjoint quant au versement des sommes payables à la suite d'un décès, peu importe les dispositions testamentaires, le cas échéant. Toutefois, si la conjointe ou le conjoint renonce à la prestation qui pourrait lui être versée, une prestation pourrait être payable à une autre personne, à certaines conditions.

Pour en savoir plus sur la renonciation du conjoint ou de la conjointe

Si vous avez des droits accumulés dans un régime de retraite du secteur public

Peu importe les dispositions de votre testament, si vous avez des droits accumulés dans un régime de retraite du secteur public, les sommes payables à la suite de votre décès iront nécessairement à votre conjointe ou conjoint reconnu, à moins que celle-ci ou celui-ci y ait renoncé. Plus précisément, cela signifie que cette personne peut, avant votre décès, renoncer à la prestation de survivant à laquelle elle aurait droit, si les dispositions du régime le permettent.

Cette renonciation permet aux héritiers de recevoir la prestation de survivant à laquelle ils auraient droit en l'absence de conjointe ou conjoint. Notez également que la conjointe ou le conjoint qui a renoncé à ses droits peut révoquer sa renonciation en tout temps avant le décès de la personne. Elle ou il doit pour ce faire aviser Retraite Québec par écrit de sa décision.

Par ailleurs, si vous n'avez pas de conjointe ou conjoint, ce sont les héritiers que vous avez désignés dans votre testament qui bénéficieront de la prestation payable à la suite de votre décès. Si vous n'avez pas fait de testament, votre succession, y compris les droits accumulés dans votre régime de retraite, ira à vos héritiers désignés selon les dispositions du Code civil du Québec.

Consultez le formulaire de renonciation pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires sur les droits et les régimes concernés.

Si vous avez des droits accumulés dans un régime complémentaire de retraite

Généralement, une prestation de décès est versée en priorité à la conjointe ou au conjoint de la personne décédée, à moins que celle-ci ou celui-ci y ait renoncé. Plus précisément, cela signifie que cette personne peut, avant votre décès, renoncer à la prestation de survivant à laquelle elle aurait droit.

Consultez la page portant sur la renonciation de la conjointe ou du conjoint pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires.

Si vous détenez des sommes dans un CRI ou un FRV

À votre décès, le solde de votre CRI ou de votre FRV sera versé en priorité à votre conjointe ou conjoint reconnu, à moins qu'elle ou qu'il y ait renoncé. En effet, votre conjointe ou votre conjoint peut renoncer en tout temps à son droit de recevoir le solde de votre CRI ou de votre FRV, avant que cette somme lui soit versée. Elle ou il n'a qu'à fournir à l'établissement financier un avis écrit à ce sujet. Dans ce cas, le solde du CRI ou du FRV sera versé aux ayants cause (ex. : héritiers).

Votre conjointe ou votre conjoint peut également révoquer sa renonciation en faisant parvenir à l'établissement financier un avis écrit mentionnant sa volonté, mais seulement avant votre décès.

Notez que des dispositions testamentaires qui contreviennent aux dispositions réglementaires régissant les CRI et les FRV sont nulles et sans effet, le règlement visé étant le Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite (Règlement RCR).

Si vous n'avez pas de conjointe ou conjoint, ce sont les ayants cause (ex. : héritiers) que vous avez désignés dans votre testament qui bénéficieront du solde de votre CRI ou de votre FRV. Si vous n'avez pas fait de testament, votre succession, y compris les droits accumulés dans votre régime de retraite, ira à vos héritiers au sens de la loi.

Consultez la page portant sur le CRI et le FRV pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires.

Quelles sont les premières démarches à effectuer en cas de décès?

Au décès d'un ou d'une proche, il est important d'aviser Retraite Québec de celui-ci dans les meilleurs délais. Consultez notre section Premières démarches en cas de décès pour vous guider.

Autre lien utile

  • La section Que faire lors d'un décès Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. du portail du gouvernement du Québec vous indique les démarches à effectuer en cas de décès d'un ou d'une proche.
  • Haut de la page