Locked-in retirement accounts (LIRAs) and life income funds (LIFs)

When a locked‑in retirement account (LIRA) or a life income fun (LIF) holder dies, the balance in the LIRA or the LIF is no longer locked-in and will be paid to the spouse base on the applicable conjugal status. However, if he or she has renounced it of if the deceased member did not have a spouse, the balance will be paid to the heirs.

At the time of the holder's death, if amounts resulting from the breakdown of a union had been transfered in a LIRA or a LIF, those amounts will only be paid to the new spouse of the contract so provides.

To receive payment of the death benefit, an application must be filed with the financial institution that administers the LIRA or the LIF.

The amounts withdrawn are subject to income tax. However, income tax can be deferred by transferring the amount directly to a registered retirement savings plan (RRSP) or to a registered retirement income fund (RRIF). For information on this subject, please consult the Canada Revenu Agency website or call 1 800 959-7383.

Renunciation and revocation

At the time of the holder's death, the spouse can renounce his or her right to receive the balance of the LIRA or the LIF, unless he or she has already received it.

The spouse can:

  • renounce payment of the balance after the holder's death, provided the amounts have not yet been paid. A written notice of renunciation must be provided to the financial institution.
  • revoke his or her renunciation by contacting the financial institution in writing, provided he or she does so before the holder's death.

Will

Despite the provisions of the deceased person's will, the balance of the LIRA or LIF will be paid according to the rules explained above. Those rules take precedence over the will.

A helpful example...

George marries his second wife, Margaret. In his will, George bequeathed the amounts in his LIRA to his children from his first mariage.

If Margaret has not renounced her right to receive the balance of the LIRA at the time of George's death, despite the provisions of George's will, the financial institution must pay her the amounts including interest, in accordance with the rules listed above.

However, Margaret must contact the financial institution in writing if she wishes to renounce her right to receive the balance of the LIRA, provided the amounts have not yet been paid. The financial institution will then pay the balance of the LIRA including interest to George's children, according to the rules listed above and the provisions of George's will.

What are the first steps to take in the event of death?

Following the death of a family member, it is important to notify Retraite Québec as soon as possible. Consult our Action to take in the event of death section for further information.

Other useful links

Top of page

Le compte de retraite immobilisé et le fonds de revenu viager

Lors du décès d'une personne qui détenait un compte de retraite immobilisé (CRI) ou un fonds de revenu viager (FRV), le solde du CRI ou du FRV n'est plus immobilisé.

Il est versé en priorité à la conjointe reconnue ou au conjoint reconnu. Toutefois, si cette personne y renonce ou s'il n'y a pas de conjointe ou de conjoint, il sera versé aux ayants cause (ex: des héritiers).

Si le CRI ou le FRV de la personne décédée contient des sommes provenant d'une rupture d'union précédente, ces sommes ne seront versées au nouveau conjoint que si le contrat du CRI ou du FRV le prévoit ou qu'il est l'ayant cause.

Demander la prestation de décès 

Pour obtenir le versement de la prestation de décès, il faut en faire la demande auprès de l'établissement financier qui administre le CRI ou le FRV.

Les sommes encaissées sont imposables. Toutefois, il est possible d'en reporter l'imposition si elles peuvent être transférées directement dans un régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER) ou un fonds enregistré de revenu de retraite (FERR). Pour les détails à ce sujet, consultez le site de l'Agence du revenu du Canada Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. ou appelez au 1 800 959‑7383.

Renonciation et révocation

Le conjoint ou la conjointe peut renoncer en tout temps à son droit de recevoir le solde du CRI ou du FRV au décès du détenteur ou de la détentrice, sauf s'il l'a déjà reçu. Cette personne peut donc y renoncer après le décès du détenteur, mais avant que la somme lui soit attribuée. Un avis écrit à ce sujet doit alors être fourni à l'établissement financier.

Le conjoint ou la conjointe peut révoquer 
sa renonciation par un avis écrit à l'établissement financier, mais seulement avant le décès du détenteur.

Testament

Malgré les dispositions du testament de la personne décédée, le solde du CRI ou du FRV devra être remis selon les règles expliquées précédemment. En effet, ces règles ont préséance sur le testament.

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

Yves s'est remarié avec Lise. Il a prévu dans son testament que les sommes accumulées dans son CRI reviendront à ses enfants issus de son premier mariage.

Si Lise n'a pas renoncé à son droit de recevoir le solde du CRI au décès de Yves, l'établissement financier doit lui attribuer ce solde avec les intérêts, et ce, selon les règles expliquées précédemment et malgré les dispositions du testament de Yves.

Toutefois, Lise peut renoncer par écrit auprès de l'établissement financier à son droit de recevoir le solde du CRI avant que la somme lui soit attribuée. L'établissement financier doit alors verser aux enfants de Yves le solde du CRI avec les intérêts, et ce, conformément aux règles expliquées précédemment et aux dispositions du testament de Yves.

Pour plus de renseignements

Retraite Québec n'a pas accès aux données personnelles des détenteurs de CRI et de FRV. La personne doit communiquer avec l'établissement financier qui administre le CRI ou le FRV. Pour d'autres renseignements, cette personne peut aussi communiquer avec la Direction des régimes complémentaires de retraite de Retraite Québec par téléphone ou par courriel.

Trois sections à consulter en cas de décès d'un proche

Autre lien utile

  • La section Que faire lors d'un décès Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. du portail du gouvernement du Québec vous indique les démarches à effectuer en cas de décès d'un ou d'une proche.

Haut de la page