Youtube facebook twitter PinterestLinkedin Instagram

Steps to take in the event of death

First steps

In general, a physician attests a death. The physician must also file and sign an attestation of death that will then be submitted to the funeral home chosen by family members.

To declare a death, the funeral home must send official documents to the Directeur de l'état civil (DEC) This link will open in a new window.. Upon sending those documents, it is also possible to ask the DEC to provide documentary proof, such as a death certificate or a copy of an act of death that could facilitate the steps that must be taken by the heirs.

If the death occurred outside Québec, you can apply to the Directeur de l'état civil to have the act of death that was prepared outside Québec, inserted into the Québec register of civil status This link will open in a new window., under certain conditions.

Steps to take with Retraite Québec

The deceased may have been receiving a pension or a benefit paid by Retraite Québec, under:

  • the Family Allowance program;
  • the Québec Pension Plan;
  • a public-sector pension plan.

If that is the case, Retraite Québec must be informed of a death as soon as possible where:

  • the deceased was receiving a benefit paid by Retraite Québec, so that payments can be suspended, which will avoid family members having to reimburse overpayments after the death
  • the deceased had a dependent child and was receiving Family Allowance payments in his or her name, so that the person who will be responsible for the child can benefit from the Family Allowance measure.

If an application for survivors' benefits was filed with Retraite Québec a few days after a death, you can consider that Retraite Québec was notified of the death. Otherwise, you can always inform Retraite Québec of a death by contacting us by telephone.

The Québec Pension Plan, public-sector pension plans and supplemental pension plans provide for pensions or benefits that could be paid to the deceased's family members, that is, to his or her spouse, children, heirs and even to the person who paid the funeral expenses.

Retraite Québec designed a tool to help create a personalized list of pensions and benefits to which the deceased's family members could be entitled based on their personal situation

Consult the Pensions and benefits section to create your personalized list

Other steps to take with the Gouvernement du Québec

Several other mandatory steps are to be taken with other departments and agencies. For more information, consult the section What to Do in the Event of Death This link will open in a new window. on the Gouvernement du Québec's website.

  • Top of page

Premières démarches en cas de décès

Premières démarches

De façon générale, c'est le médecin qui constate le décès. Le médecin a aussi pour rôle de produire et de signer le constat de décès, qu'il transmettra par la suite à l'entreprise funéraire choisie par les proches.

Pour déclarer le décès, l'entreprise funéraire devra transmettre des documents officiels au Directeur de l'état civil Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre.. À l'occasion de cette transmission, il est également possible de demander à cet organisme des documents de preuve pouvant faciliter les démarches des héritiers, comme le certificat ou la copie d'acte de décès.

Si le décès est survenu hors du Québec, il est possible de demander au Directeur de l'état civil l'insertion au registre de l'état civil du Québec de l'acte de décès fait à l'étranger, à certaines conditions.

Démarches à effectuer auprès de Retraite Québec

La personne décédée recevait possiblement une rente ou une prestation versée par Retraite Québec en vertu :

  • de l'Allocation famille
  • du Régime de rentes du Québec
  • d'un régime de retraite du secteur public.

S'il y a lieu, Retraite Québec doit être informée rapidement du décès dans le cas où :

  • la personne décédée recevait une prestation versée par Retraite Québec, afin que les versements en soient suspendus, ce qui évitera à ses proches de devoir rembourser les sommes versées après le décès
  • la personne décédée avait la charge d'un enfant et recevait l'Allocation famille à son nom, afin que la personne qui reprendra la charge de l'enfant puisse bénéficier de la mesure de l'Allocation famille.

Si une demande de prestation de survivant a été faite à Retraite Québec dans les jours suivant le décès, vous pouvez considérer qu'elle a été avisée de celui-ci. Dans le cas contraire, il est possible de l'en aviser en communiquant avec elle par téléphone.

Le Régime de rentes du Québec, les régimes de retraite du secteur public et les régimes complémentaires de retraite prévoient des rentes ou des prestations qui pourraient être versées aux proches de la personne décédée, soit à sa conjointe ou son conjoint, à ses enfants, à ses héritiers et même à la personne qui a payé les frais funéraires.

Retraite Québec a conçu un outil qui permet de créer une liste personnalisée des rentes et des prestations auxquelles les proches d'une personne décédée pourraient avoir droit en fonction de leur situation personnelle

Consultez l'aide-mémoire pour les rentes et prestations de décès

Autres démarches à effectuer auprès du Gouvernement du Québec

Plusieurs autres démarches obligatoires sont à effectuer auprès d'autres ministères et organismes. Pour en savoir plus, consultez la section Que faire lors d'un décès sur le site Web du gouvernement du Québec.

Haut de la page