Youtube facebook twitter PinterestLinkedin Instagram

Your Statement of Participation in a public-sector pension plan

A simple and personalized tool to plan your retirement

Your new Statement summarizes your participation in your public-sector pensionSent in the Fall of 2019 plan using the most recent participation data provided by your employer. The data provided is for the period until 31 December.

In 2019, your Statement has been simplified and made more personalized to help you plan your retirement. Retirement is like any other life project (studies, travels, car or house purchase), in that it requires planning. Do not hesitate to consult a financial planner to help you assess your situation and elaborate a plan that corresponds to your needs and financial resources.

Your Statement gives you privileged access to information concerning your membership in a public-sector pension plan. You will find, for example:

  • personalized retirement scenarios that are based on your years of service and age when you retire;
  • your contributions and interest accrued to date under your public-sector pension plan;
  • your rights and advantages, such as the days of absence that you can buy back.

You will need your Statement:

  • for an overview of your retirement income under your public-sector pension plan;
  • to plan your retirement;
  • to use our Buy-Back Cost Estimator This link will open in a new window. tool to assess how a buy-back of your days of absence will affect your pension and when you retire;
  • to use our Pension Estimator This link will open in a new window. tool to obtain other retirement scenarios;
  • for when you meet with your financial planner.

This new section on your Statement of Participation introduces you to personalized retirement scenarios derived from your years of service and age when you retire.

The scenarios are designed using data Retraite Québec receives from your employer.

Since you are contributing to a public-sector pension plan, your employer or employers deduct contributions from your salary and pay them into your pension plan, which gives you entitlement to benefits payable when you retire or your employment ends.

Below are three different retirement scenarios based on various eligibility requirements:

  • the 1st scenario shows the person's earliest possible retirement date with a reduced pension at age 55. The retirement pension amount will be reduced permanently;
  • the 2nd scenario shows the person's eligibility for an unreduced retirement pension at age 56, that is, after 35 years of service. The retirement pension amount is not reduced;
  • the 3rd scenario shows the person's estimated retirement pension amount at age 65.

Estimated amount of your retirement pension

Your age at the time you retire and the number of years of service you have accrued will have an effect on the amount of your retirement pension.

 

Reduction in the amount of your pension at age 65

Under your pension plan, your retirement pension amount decreases when you turn 65. The reduction could be offset in part or in full by the Québec Pension Plan (QPP), the Old Age Security (OAS) pension from the federal government or personal savings. For more information, please consult the Integration of your public-sector pension plan with the Québec Pension Plan (QPP) This link will open in a new window. brochure.

For other retirement scenarios, you can use the Pension Estimator This link will open in a new window. tool.

Possible variations in your retirement pension amount

The amounts indicated in your Statement are an estimate of the amounts that you could receive when you retire. The actual amount of your retirement pension could differ if there are changes during your career (e.g. salary, hours of work, days of absence, buy-backs, etc.).

Accruing years of service

In general, to have a complete year of service credited for the purpose of calculating your pension, you must work full-time throughout the year. If you work part-time, your plan will credit part of a year. If the years of service for calculation purposes are less than 1 (1.0000), it usually means that you did not work full-time for the entire year. However, there may be other reasons that you have not been credited a full year. For more information, contact Retraite Québec.

Eligibility for your retirement pension

It is possible to retire on a date different than the ones indicated on your Statement. The dates shown in the scenarios correspond to the dates on which you will meet the first eligibility requirement for an unreduced or reduced pension.

An unreduced retirement pension means that no reduction has been applied to the pension amount because you meet one of the eligibility requirements for an unreduced pension.

If you are eligible for a reduced pension, the amount of your retirement pension will be reduced permanently.

For more information on the eligibility requirements for a reduced or unreduced retirement pension, please consult the brochure concerning your public-sector pension plan.

You will find information concerning the indexation of your pension on your Statement of Participation and Information Sheet. It shows the increase in the amount of the pension you are currently receiving, or are to receive, in accordance with the rate of increase of the Pension Index (PI). The PI is determined in accordance with the Act respecting the Québec Pension Plan.

Retraite Québec uses the PI to determine the indexation rate for benefits paid under public-sector pension plans. The Information Sheet enclosed with your Statement of Participation indicates the current indexation rate.

Indexation of your pension

Once you begin receiving your pension, it will be indexed on 1 January each year according to your plan's rules, the periods of service you have accrued and the applicable indexation rate.

 

This portion of your Statement of Participation indicates the amounts to which you would be entitled if you end your employment during the period of service that is taken into account when your Statement is produced. In addition, it shows the amounts your spouse or heirs could receive in the event of your death.

 

Important

The participation data indicated on your Statement of Participation is derived from the Annual Information Return (AIR) submitted to Retraite Québec by your employer or employers. If the information provided in the Statement is incorrect, you must contact your employer to have it corrected.

In certain situations, no Statement will be sent. It is the case for someone:

  • who retired during the year
  • whose application for a retirement pension is being processed
  • age 69 or over, or in phased retirement
  • whose employment status changed during the year. For example, a person who no longer contributes to a public-sector pension plan, works for an employer who is not subject to the public-sector pension plan and does not receive a retirement pension under a public-sector pension plan.

Individuals in such situations will not receive a Statement of Participation, but a document adapted to their situation. For example, if you are already receiving a retirement pension, we will send you a statement of benefits called Your Pension.

For an estimate of your retirement pension amount, use our Pension Estimator This link will open in a new window. tool.

Employment in 2018

The information below was established using data provided by your employer. If you note that the data do not match your personal situation, please contact your employer.

 

This section in your Statement of Participation indicates your contributions under your public-sector pension plan, as well as the amounts transferred from another pension plan. In addition, it shows the interest accrued as at 31 December of the previous year.

If you bought back days of absence during the year of the Statement or a prior year, but your buy-back is still being paid, you will also find that information in this section of your Statement of Participation.

The interest on your contributions is calculated according to the rate in effect during each period of the year taken into account when producing your Statement. It is calculated proportionally to each period. The interest rate applied to the contributions may vary throughout a given year.

A negative interest rate does not have any impact on your retirement pension amount because your pension is calculated based on a fixed formula, and not on the total amount of your contributions and accrued interest. However, it affects the total because, for the period during which the interest rate is negative, no interest is accrued on your contributions.

Years of service and contributions

According to the data provided by your employers, as at 31 December 2018, you had accrued 126 days that could be bought back.

 

This new section of your personalized Statement of Participation indicates whether you have days of absence that you can buy back. If your Statement contains a table showing days of absence, you can buy back periods of absence without pay (parental leave, compassionate care leave) that were not credited to you under your pension plan. Buying back those days of absence could increase your retirement pension amount or allow you to retire earlier.

References for buy-backs

Use our Buy-Back Cost Estimator This link will open in a new window. tool for a buy-back estimate.

For more information, consult our Buy-Backs publication

Absences that can be bought back

According to the data provided by your employers, as at 31 December 2018, you had accrued 126 days that could be bought back.

 

If your pension plan so provides, when the amount of your pension is calculated, up to 90 days can be automatically recognized at no cost to offset certain absences without pay. Out of your 126 days of absences that can be bought back, 90 days are recognized at no cost and have been considered in the pension estimates presented at the beginning of your statement.

If you wish to modify any personal information (family name, given name, date of birth or postal address), you must send a request to Retraite Québec.

  • Top of page

Votre relevé de participation à un régime de retraite du secteur public

Un outil simple et personnalisé pour planifier votre projet de retraite

Votre nouveau relevé présente un résumé de votre participation à votre régime deEnvoyé dès l'automne 2019 retraite selon les données les plus récentes fournies par votre employeur pour une année se terminant le 31 décembre.

En 2019, votre relevé a été simplifié et est davantage personnalisé pour vous aider à planifier vos projets de retraite, tout comme vous le faites pour vos autres projets de vie, tels que vos projets d'études, de voyages, d'achat de maison ou de voiture. N'hésitez pas à consulter une personne responsable de la planification financière pour vous aider à faire le point et à élaborer un plan en fonction de vos besoins et de vos ressources financières.

Votre relevé vous donne un accès privilégié à l'information concernant votre participation à un régime de retraite du secteur public. Vous y trouverez par exemple :

  • des scénarios de rentes personnalisés selon votre âge à la date de votre retraite et vos années de service;
  • vos cotisations et intérêts accumulés jusqu'à maintenant dans votre régime de retraite du secteur public;
  • vos droits et avantages, tels que les jours d'absence rachetables.

Votre relevé, vous en avez besoin pour :

Cette nouvelle section de votre relevé de participation vous présente des scénarios de rentes personnalisés selon votre âge à la date de votre retraite et le nombre de vos années de service.

Ces scénarios sont réalisés à partir des données de participation que transmettent les employeurs à Retraite Québec.

Comme vous participez à un régime de retraite du secteur public, votre ou vos employeurs prélèvent des cotisations sur votre salaire et les versent à votre régime de retraite. En contrepartie, vous aurez droit à des prestations payables à votre retraite ou au moment de votre fin d'emploi.

L'exemple ci-dessous présente 3 scénarios de rente de retraite selon différents critères d'admissibilité :

  • Le 1er scénario indique l'admissibilité de la personne à sa rente de retraite avec réduction à 55 ans. Cela signifie que le montant de la rente est réduit de façon permanente.
  • Le 2e scénario indique l'admissibilité de la personne à sa rente de retraite sans réduction à 60 ans en raison de l'atteinte du facteur d'admissibilité 90 (âge + années de service pour l'admissibilité). Cela signifie que le montant de la rente n'est pas réduit.
  • Le 3e scénario indique le montant estimé de la rente de la personne à 65 ans.

Estimation de votre rente de retraite

Votre âge à la date de votre retraite et le nombre de vos années de service auront un effet sur le montant de votre rente de retraite.

 

Diminution de votre rente à compter de 65 ans

Votre régime de retraite prévoit une diminution de votre rente applicable à compter de 65 ans. Cette diminution pourrait être comblée en tout ou en partie par la rente du Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ), la pension de la Sécurité de la vieillesse du fédéral (SV) et par l'épargne personnelle. Pour en savoir plus à ce sujet, consultez la brochure La coordination de votre régime de retraite avec le Régime de rentes du Québec Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre..

Pour obtenir d'autres scénarios de retraite, utilisez l'outil Estimation de la rente.

Variation possible du montant de votre rente

Les montants inscrits dans votre relevé sont une estimation des sommes que vous pourriez recevoir à votre retraite. Celles-ci peuvent varier selon les différents événements qui pourraient survenir au cours de votre carrière, par exemple, des changements dans vos conditions salariales, des changements en lien avec le temps travaillé, les jours d'absence, les rachats de service, etc.

Accumulation d'une année de service

De façon générale, pour accumuler une année de service complète, vous devez occuper un emploi à temps plein pendant toute l'année. Si vous travaillez à temps partiel, votre régime vous reconnaîtra une partie d'année. Si les années de service pour le calcul indiquent un nombre inférieur à 1 (1,0000), cela signifie habituellement que vous n'avez pas travaillé à temps plein pendant l'année en question. D'autres raisons peuvent toutefois expliquer un léger écart. Vous pouvez communiquer avec Retraite Québec Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. pour obtenir plus d'information.

Admissibilité à votre rente

Il est possible de prendre votre retraite à une autre date que celle inscrite sur votre relevé. Les dates de retraite présentées dans les scénarios de votre relevé correspondent aux dates auxquelles vous atteindrez le premier critère d'admissibilité à une rente avec ou sans réduction.

La rente de retraite sans réduction signifie que le montant de la rente n'est pas réduit, puisque la personne remplit l'un des critères d'admissibilité à une rente sans réduction.

Si vous êtes admissible à une rente avec réduction, cela signifie qu'une réduction s'appliquera de façon permanente au montant de votre rente.

Pour connaître les critères d'admissibilité à votre rente de retraite avec ou sans réduction, veuillez consulter la brochure portant sur votre régime de retraite du secteur public Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre..

Cette information, présentée dans votre relevé de participation ainsi que dans votre feuillet d'information, vous indique le rajustement à la hausse du montant de la rente versée ou en attente de versement en fonction du taux d'augmentation de l'indice des rentes (TAIR). Le TAIR est déterminé en vertu de la Loi sur le régime de rentes du Québec.

Indexation de votre rente de retraite

Voici le taux d'augmentation de l'indice des rentes (TAIR) qui s'appliquerait à votre rente si elle était en paiement.

 

Cette portion de votre relevé de participation vous indique les sommes auxquelles vous auriez droit si vous quittiez votre emploi au moment de la période de service prise en compte lors de la production de votre relevé ainsi que les sommes que votre conjoint ou conjointe ou vos héritiers pourraient recevoir en cas de décès.

 

Important

Les données de participation inscrites dans votre relevé de participation proviennent de la déclaration annuelle soumise par votre ou vos employeurs à Retraite Québec. Si vous constatez une erreur, veuillez contacter votre employeur pour faire corriger les données erronées.

Dans certaines situations, aucun relevé n'est transmis. C'est le cas pour un participant ou une participante :

  • qui a pris sa retraite durant l'année;
  • dont la demande de prestation de retraite est en cours;
  • de 69 ans et plus ou en retraite graduelle;
  • dont le statut d'emploi a changé au cours de l'année. Par exemple, la personne ne cotise plus à un régime de retraite du secteur public, mais elle travaille chez un employeur qui n'est pas assujetti au régime de retraite du secteur public et elle ne reçoit pas de rente de retraite du régime de retraite du secteur public.

Dans les situations énumérées ci-dessus, les personnes qui ne reçoivent pas de relevé de participation recevront un document adapté à leur situation. Par exemple, si vous recevez déjà une rente de retraite, un relevé de prestations, intitulé Votre rente, vous sera transmis.

Si vous souhaitez obtenir une estimation de votre rente, vous pouvez utiliser l'outil Estimation de la rente Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre..

Emplois en 2018

L'information ci-dessous a été déterminée à partir des données fournies par vos employeurs. Si vous constatez que ces données ne représentent pas votre situation personnelle, veuillez communiquer avec vos employeurs.

 

Cette section de votre relevé de participation vous indique les sommes que vous avez versées ou transférées d'un autre régime de retraite dans votre régime de retraite du secteur public, ainsi que les intérêts accumulés au 31 décembre de l'année précédente.

Si vous avez effectué un rachat de jours d'absence dans l'année indiquée dans le relevé ou dans une année précédente, mais que le rachat est toujours en paiement, cette information est également inscrite dans cette section du relevé de participation.

Les intérêts appliqués à vos cotisations sont calculés selon les taux en vigueur pour les différentes périodes de l'année prises en compte pour la production de votre relevé, en proportion de chacune de ces périodes. Le taux d'intérêt du régime peut varier au cours d'une même année.

Un taux d'intérêt négatif n'a aucun effet sur le montant de votre rente, puisque celle-ci est calculée à l'aide d'une formule déterminée et non pas en fonction du total de vos cotisations et des intérêts accumulés sur celle-ci. Toutefois, le taux d'intérêt négatif a un effet sur ce total, puisque pendant la période où le taux d'intérêt est négatif, aucun intérêt ne s'accumule sur vos cotisations.

Années de service et cotisations

Cette section de votre relevé de participation présente vos cotisations avec les intérêts accumulés.

 

Cette nouvelle section de votre relevé de participation personnalisé vous indique si vous avez des jours d'absence rachetables. Si vous avez un tableau présentant des jours d'absence, cela signifie que vous pouvez racheter des périodes d'absence sans salaire ou de congé parental ou de compassion qui ne vous ont pas été reconnues par votre régime de retraite. Le rachat de ces jours d'absence pourrait augmenter le montant de votre rente ou vous permettre de prendre votre retraite plus tôt.

Références sur le rachat

Obtenez une estimation du coût de rachat de vos jours d'absence en utilisant l'outil Estimation du coût d'un rachat de service Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre..

Pour plus de détails, consultez la publication Les rachats de service Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre..

Jours d'absence rachetables

Le tableau ci-dessous indique vos jours d'absence rachetables selon les données fournies par vos employeurs.

 

Votre régime prévoit, à certaines conditions, la reconnaissance automatique et sans frais d'un maximum de 90 jours lors du calcul de votre rente pour combler certaines absences sans salaire. Sur vos 402 jours d'absence rachetables, 90 jours sont reconnus sans frais et ont été considérés dans les estimations de rente présentées au début de votre relevé.

Si vous souhaitez apporter une modification concernant votre identification personnelle, par exemple, à votre nom, à votre prénom, à votre date de naissance ou à votre adresse postale, vous devez transmettre une demande de modification à Retraite Québec.

  • Haut de la page