Youtube facebook twitter PinterestLinkedin Instagram

Eligibility for survivors' benefits

Did the deceased contribute sufficiently to the Québec Pension Plan?

We take into account all the contributions made by the deceased before and after he or she began receiving a retirement pension under the Québec Pension Plan. A person's death gives entitlement to survivors' benefits if he or she contributed to the Plan:

  • for 10 years OR
  • for at least a third of his or her contributory period and for a minimum of 3 years

    Consider, for example, the case of a person who died at age 29. His or her contributory period is 12 years and corresponds to the period during which the person was between ages 18 and 29. The death will give entitlement to survivors' benefits if the deceased had contributed for at least a third of his or her contributory period, that is, 4 years (12 years x 1/3 = 4 years).

Deceased persons who had a severe impairment during their contributory period can give entitlement to survivors' benefits even if they did not accumulate enough years of contribution. However, the following 3 conditions apply:

  • The deceased must have contributed for a quarter of his or her contributory period, for a minimum of 3 years.
  • The deceased must have received an Amount for a Severe and Prolonged Impairment in Mental or Physical Functions This link will open in a new window. (or an equivalent deduction).
  • The deceased must not have been receiving a retirement pension or a disability pension under the Québec Pension Plan or the Canada Pension Plan.
Note that...

If the deceased did not contribute for the required number of years, a death benefit can still be paid if he or she:

  • made contributions of at least $500 to the Québec Pension Plan or the Canada Pension Plan;
  • did not receive a retirement pension or a disability pension under the Québec Pension Plan or the Canada Pension Plan.

The amount of the death benefit is equal to the contributions made, up to a maximum of $2500.

What is the contributory period?

Whether or not a person works, the contributory period begins in the month following his or her 18th birthday, or on 1 January 1966 (date on which the Québec Pension Plan came into effect) if he or she turned 18 before that date.

The contributory period used to calculate a person's benefits ends at the end of the first of the following months:

  • the month preceding the one in which payment of a retirement pension under the Québec Pension Plan begins
  • the month of the person's 70th birthday
  • the month of the person's death.

It is possible that certain months will not be taken into account when calculating the contributory period, which could give the contributor's family entitlement to a benefit or even increase the amount if they are:

  • months during which the contributor received a disability pension under the Québec Pension Plan or the Canada Pension Plan or an unreduced income replacement indemnity from the Commission des normes, de l'équité, de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CNESST)
  • as of 1966 (the year in which the Québec Pension Plan came into effect), any months during which the contributor received, in his or her name, family benefits paid by the Québec government or the Canadian government for a child under 7.

Other eligible contributions

  • If the deceased contributed to the Canada Pension Plan, we take those contributions into account when determining entitlement to benefits and calculating the amount of the pension.
  • If the deceased contributed to a pension plan of a country with which Québec has a social security agreement, those years of contribution can be added to his or her participation in the Québec Pension Plan or in the Canada Pension Plan, possibly granting eligibility for survivors' benefits.

What are the first steps to take in the event of death?

Following the death of a family member, it is important to notify Retraite Québec as soon as possible. Consult our Action to take in the event of death section for further information.

Other useful links

  • Top of page

Youtube facebook twitter PinterestLinkedin Instagram

L'admissibilité aux prestations de survivants

Est-ce que la personne décédée avait suffisamment cotisé au Régime de rentes du Québec?

Nous tenons compte de toutes les cotisations que la personne décédée avait versées au Régime de rentes du Québec avant qu'elle ait commencé à recevoir sa rente de retraite ou après. Ainsi, le fait qu'une personne soit décédée donne droit aux prestations de survivants si celle-ci avait cotisé au Régime :

  • pour 10 années OU
  • pour au moins le tiers de la période de cotisation, pour un minimum de 3 années

    Prenons, par exemple, le cas d'une personne qui est décédée à l'âge de 29 ans. Sa période de cotisation est de 12 ans et correspond à la période où la personne avait entre 18 et 29 ans. Ses proches ont donc droit aux prestations de survivants, si elle avait cotisé pour au moins le tiers de la période de cotisation, soit 4 ans (12 ans x 1/3 = 4 ans).

Une personne décédée ayant eu une déficience grave durant sa période de cotisation peut aussi rendre ses proches admissibles aux prestations de survivants, même si elle n'a pas cumulé suffisamment d'années de cotisation. La personne doit toutefois avoir respecté les 3 conditions suivantes :

Notez que...

Si la personne décédée n'avait pas cotisé pour le nombre d'années requis, une prestation de décès peut quand même être versée si la personne :

  • avait cotisé au Régime de rentes du Québec ou au Régime de pensions du Canada pour au moins 500 $;
  • n'avait pas reçu de rente de retraite ou d'invalidité du Régime de rentes du Québec ou du Régime de pensions du Canada.

Le montant de la prestation de décès équivaut alors à la somme des cotisations versées, jusqu'à un maximum de 2 500 $.

Qu'est-ce que la période de cotisation?

Pour toute personne, qu'elle travaille ou non, la période de cotisation débute le mois suivant son 18e anniversaire de naissance ou le 1er janvier 1966 (date d'entrée en vigueur du Régime de rentes du Québec) si elle a eu 18 ans avant cette date.

La période de cotisation qui sert à calculer la prestation d'une personne se termine à la fin du premier des mois suivants :

  • le mois précédant le début du versement de sa rente de retraite du Régime de rentes du Québec
  • le mois de son 70e anniversaire de naissance
  • le mois de son décès.

Il est possible que certains mois ne soient pas pris en compte dans la période de cotisation, ce qui pourrait avoir comme effet de rendre les proches d'une personne cotisante admissibles à une prestation ou même d'en faire augmenter le montant. Il s'agit :

  • des mois pour lesquels la personne cotisante a reçu une rente d'invalidité en vertu du Régime de rentes du Québec ou du Régime de pensions du Canada ou une indemnité de remplacement du revenu non réduite de la Commission des normes, de l'équité, de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CNESST)
  • des mois, à compter de 1966 (entrée en vigueur du Régime de rentes du Québec), pour lesquels la personne cotisante a reçu à son nom des prestations familiales du Québec ou du Canada pour un enfant de moins de 7 ans.

Autres cotisations admissibles

  • Si la personne décédée avait cotisé au Régime de pensions du Canada, nous tenons compte des cotisations versées à ce régime pour déterminer le droit à des prestations et le montant de la rente.
  • Si la personne décédée avait déjà cotisé à un régime de pension d'un pays avec lequel le Québec a conclu une entente de sécurité sociale, ces années de cotisation peuvent s'ajouter à sa participation au Régime de rentes du Québec et au Régime de pensions du Canada et permettre éventuellement  que ses proches aient droit à des prestations de survivants.

Quelles sont les premières démarches à effectuer en cas de décès?

Au décès d'un ou d'une proche, il est important d'aviser Retraite Québec de celui-ci dans les meilleurs délais. Consultez notre section Premières démarches en cas de décès pour vous guider.

Autre lien utile

  • La section Que faire lors d'un décès Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. du portail du gouvernement du Québec vous indique les démarches à effectuer en cas de décès d'un ou d'une proche.
  • Haut de la page