For a retirement without compromise

The main benefit of saving and financially preparing for retirement is to be able to continue doing what we love, without compromise!

 
 

Starting to save early pays off!

Taking easy steps daily can help you save big.

ReplacingByAmount saved per week
A cup of coffee at the caféA cup of coffee from home $3
Lunch at the restaurantA lunch from home $17
 
Annual savings
$1040

By investing these small amounts accumulated in a savings vehicle of your choice, you will put your money to work. The sooner you start putting money aside, the more time will work in your favor and the more the return generated by your investments will increase due to compound interest. The few dollars invested each week could be worth thousands of dollars once you retire.

Take a few minutes to calculate how much you need to save for retirement with SimulR, our simulator tool. It's as easy as 1-2-3.

Let time do its work for you

Savings period (duration)Amount invested per yearTotal investedAverage annual interest rateAmount accrued at age 65
Stephanie's caseFrom age 25 to 34 (10 years)$1000$10 0005% $57 080
Fred's caseFrom age 45 to 64 (20 years)$1000$20 0005% $34 700
Graphique Graphique
 

Good advice
Your financial situation will fluctuate and lead you to save a little more or a little less over time. In a difficult economic context, you will need to adjust your savings, that is normal. The important thing is to make a budget and review it regularly. Making room for savings is not an expense, it is an investment for you.


Planning for retirement:
one step at a time

Like any of your projects, retirement requires planning. Even if conditions are not always optimal to take action, the game is worth the effort!

Here are the steps to take to properly plan your retirement.

 

Do you like going to restaurants, going on trips or spoiling your loved ones? When you retire, you will still want to do so! You may wish to carry out many projects, such as going back to school or traveling. If you have ambitious projects or expensive hobbies, you should take this into account and financially plan your retirement accordingly!

Examples of retirement plans

 

Geraldine
spends her winters in an upscale apartment in Florida.
$20 000

 

Mary
lives for her grandchildren and spoils them a lot.
$3000

 

Walid
decided to enroll in a course at university.
$500

 

Suzanne and Jack
have found a camping car and plan to drive across the country.
$200 000

 

Margaret
enjoys painting and knitting.
$2000

 

Paul
is an avid outdoorsman and goes on a trip every year.
$10 000

You must establish the income you will need to carry out the retirement plan of your dreams or simply to maintain your standards of living once you retire.

To maintain his or her standard of living in retirement, a person will need around 70% of his or her average gross annual income from his or her last years of work, which are usually the years when the salary was highest. Depending on the age at which you wish to retire, your needs and your retirement plan, this percentage may be reviewed. For example, people who want to retire early and enjoy a long retirement should anticipate that they will need to save more.

Emma's example

During her retirement, Emma wishes to: Annual cost
travel 3 weeks per year in Canada $5000
do some gardening $500
continue to go out to restaurants and the cinema $4500
Total cost of her retirement projects $10 000
+Usual cost of living $25 000
=Income required during retirement $35 000

Make a personal budget. You will be able to determine your capacity to save.

In order to accumulate the amounts that will allow you to ensure the income you will need once you retire, you will have to set savings goals. If you have a good savings capacity, it is recommended that you save around 10% of your annual net income.

To properly evaluate your situation, use SimulR. This simulator tool will help you:

Emma's example

Emma wants to know how much she must save for her retirement. By using SimulR, Emma knows the approximate amounts of benefits she will receive, which will come from public retirement plans, as well as from the pension plan offered by her employer. She notes that she has very little personal savings accumulated.

Annual salary: $50 000
Annual income required for her retirement: $35 000
SimulR recommends that she saves: $115/month*

* This example was calculated by considering that these amounts will generate a 5% return until Emma retires at age 65.

 

Good advice
Please note that it is generally better to reduce or eliminate your debts before you start saving, especially when interest rates are high. Make sure you have an emergency fund for unforeseen events, and then think about saving for your projects and your retirement. Regularly review your budget and adjust your savings amount according to your current financial situation.

Here are five tips to help you achieve your goals and guide you easily regarding financial planning:

  1. Start saving as soon as possible. Time is on your side, don't waste it!
  2. Don't save blindly. Plan your savings according to your situation and your goals. If you feel the need, do not hesitate to be accompanied by a financial planner.
  3. Choose registered investment vehicles. In the long term, investment made to registered investments such as an RRSP or TFSA deliver greater returns because of their tax benefits. It is important to choose the vehicle (RRSP or TFSA) most appropriate to your fiscal situation.
  4. Find out to what you will be entitled. Regularly consult your Statement of Participation under the Québec Pension Plan (QPP) in My Account and find out about this plan for the terms and conditions. If you contribute to a pension plan offered by your employer, make sure you are familiar with its provisions. If you are a member of a private-sector pension plan, find out about this plan, check with your employer and remember to retrieve your Statement of Participation available in My Account. This Statement provides a wealth of information for you.

  5. Take into account the various financial risks related to retirement. The increase in the cost of living, the longevity risk and the other financial risks must be taken into consideration when planning your retirement. You could be retired longer than you think and the cost of goods and services will not be the same as today.
 

Good advice
Please note that, if planning your retirement befuddles or intimidates you, specialists are there to help, especially in the event of a difficult economic situation. Meet with a financial planner to guide you through your finances.

Financial planning for retirement does not end when you approach retirement. You must plan your withdrawal strategy. It will allow you to make sure you make the best decisions regarding the withdrawal of your investments, the age at which you should apply for your retirement pension under the QPP, your Old Age Security pension or your benefits under a pension plan offered by your employer. This will allow you to maximize your income and reduce financial risks as much as possible during your retirement.

If you are retired, it is important to review your withdrawal strategy in times of recession or tougher economic times.

 

Good advice
Evaluate your financial situation regularly, especially if your personal situation changes. You can thus ensure that your retirement project and plan are in synch with your situation.

How much will you receive from public programs?

Public retirement plans from the Government of Canada (Old Age Security program) and the Gouvernement du Québec (Québec Pension Plan) guarantee basic income in retirement. The income offered by public retirement plans vary according to your salary, the number of years during which you contributed and your age when you apply for a pension. They must be complemented by other sources of income from a workplace pension plan and/or your personal savings. This additional income is essential to ensure you have an adequate standard of living in retirement.

Jeff's example

  • Former employee of a medium-sized business
  • No pension plan offered by his employer
  • Little personal savings accumulated
  • Jeff always thought that government programs would be enough to allow him to maintain his standard of living and allow him to travel in retirement

Annual income at the end of his career

$49 000

Annual income required for his retirement (70%)

$34 300

Estimated annual retirement income in 2022

$17 270

  • $7780 from the Old Age Security (OAS)
  • $9490 from the Québec Pension Plan (QPP)

Missing income

$17 030

Tools to help you

The Statement of Participation: your best ally!

Consult your Statement of Participation under the Québec Pension Plan (QPP) in My Account. This is an essential tool that informs you of the amount of your contributions to the QPP and allows you to have an estimate of your pension amount according to the age at which you apply for it. The Statement provides a wealth of information, and your financial planner will need it to determine your situation.

Pour une retraite sans compromis

Le principal avantage de planifier financièrement sa retraite, c'est de pouvoir continuer à faire ce que l'on aime!
Et ce, sans compromis, malgré les aléas de la vie!

 
 

Commencez à épargner tôt, c'est payant!

Des gestes faciles à poser au quotidien peuvent vous permettre d'épargner gros.

En remplaçantParMontant épargné par semaine
Un café au comptoir du coinUn café de la maison 3 $
Un repas du midi au restaurantUn lunch de la maison 17 $
 
Épargne annuelle
1 040 $

En investissant ces petites sommes accumulées dans un véhicule d'épargne de votre choix, vous ferez fructifier votre argent. Plus vous commencez tôt, plus le temps jouera en votre faveur et plus le rendement généré par vos placements augmentera grâce à l'intérêt composé. Les quelques dollars investis chaque semaine pourraient valoir des milliers de dollars une fois que vous serez à la retraite.

Prenez quelques minutes pour calculer vos besoins d'épargne en vue de la retraite avec notre outil de simulation SimulR. C'est simple comme bonjour!

Laissez le temps faire le travail à votre place

Période d'épargne (durée) Montant investi par annéeTotal investiTaux d'intérêt annuel moyenMontant accumulé à 65 ans
Cas de
Stéphanie
De 25 à 34 ans (10 ans)1 000 $10 000 $5 % 57 080 $
Cas de
Frédéric
De 45 à 64 ans (20 ans)1 000 $20 000 $5 % 34 700 $
Graphique Graphique
 

Bon conseil
Votre situation financière fluctuera et vous amènera à épargner un peu plus ou un peu moins à travers le temps. Dans un contexte économique difficile, il vous faudra rajuster votre niveau d'épargne, et c'est normal. L'important, c'est de se faire un budget et de le revoir régulièrement. Faire une place à l'épargne, ce n'est pas une dépense, c'est un investissement pour vous!

Discussion sur la planification financière de la retraite dans le contexte économique actuel

avec Jean‑François Therrien, actuaire en chef du Régime de rentes du Québec et Martin Dupras, planificateur financier et formateur à l'Institut québécois de planification financière.

 

Planifier sa retraite :
un geste à la fois

Comme n'importe lequel de vos projets, une retraite, ça se planifie. Même si les conditions ne sont pas toujours optimales pour passer à l'action, le jeu en vaut la chandelle!

Voici les gestes à poser pour bien planifier votre retraite.

 

Vous aimez aller au resto, faire des voyages ou gâter vos proches? Quand vous serez à la retraite, vous aurez assurément encore envie de le faire! Vous souhaiterez peut-être réaliser mille et un projets, par exemple retourner aux études ou voyager. Si vous avez des projets ambitieux ou des passe-temps coûteux, vous devez en tenir compte et planifier financièrement votre retraite en conséquence!

Exemples de coût annuel pour des projets de retraite

 

Ginette
passe ses hivers dans un appartement haut de gamme en Floride.
20 000 $

 

Brigitte
ne vit que pour ses petits-enfants et les gâte beaucoup.
3 000 $

 

Walid
a décidé de retourner suivre un cours à l'université.
500 $

 

Suzanne et Jacques
se sont déniché un véhicule récréatif et prévoient se promener à travers le pays.
200 000 $

 

Margot
aime faire de la peinture et du tricot.
2 000 $

 

Paul
est passionné de plein air et fait un voyage tous les ans.
10 000 $

Vous devez établir le revenu dont vous aurez besoin pour réaliser le projet de retraite dont vous rêvez ou simplement pour conserver votre train de vie une fois à la retraite.

Pour maintenir son niveau de vie à la retraite, une personne aura besoin d'environ 70 % de son revenu annuel brut moyen de ses dernières années de travail, qui sont habituellement les années où son salaire aura été le plus élevé. En fonction de l'âge auquel vous souhaitez prendre votre retraite, de vos besoins et de votre projet de retraite, ce pourcentage pourra être revu. Par exemple, les personnes qui souhaitent prendre leur retraite tôt et profiter d'une longue retraite doivent prévoir qu'elles devront épargner davantage.

L'exemple d'Emma

Projets de retraite Coût annuel
Voyager 3 semaines par année au Canada 5 000 $
Faire du jardinage 500 $
Continuer de faire des sorties au restaurant et au cinéma 4 500 $
Coût total des projets 10 000 $
+Coût de la vie habituel 25 000 $
=Revenu nécessaire durant sa retraite 35 000 $

Faites un budget personnel. Vous pourrez ainsi déterminer votre capacité d'épargne.

Afin d'arriver à accumuler les sommes qui vous permettront d'avoir le revenu dont vous aurez besoin à la retraite, vous devrez vous fixer des objectifs d'épargne. Si vous avez une bonne capacité d'épargne, il vous est recommandé d'économiser environ 10 % de vos revenus annuels nets. 

Pour bien évaluer votre situation, utilisez SimulR. Cet outil de simulation vous aidera à :

  • déterminer vos différentes sources de revenu à la retraite
  • estimer les montants auxquels vous pourriez avoir droit
  • fixer vos objectifs d'épargne en prévision de la retraite.

L'exemple d'Emma

Emma veut savoir combien elle doit épargner pour sa retraite. En utilisant SimulR, Emma connaît les montants approximatifs des prestations qu'elle recevra des régimes de retraite publics ainsi que du régime de retraite offert par son employeur. Elle réalise qu'elle a très peu d'épargne personnelle accumulée.

Salaire annuel 50 000 $
Revenu annuel nécessaire pour sa retraite 35 000 $
SimulR lui recommande d'épargner 115 $ /mois*

* Cet exemple a été calculé en considérant que ces sommes généreront 5 % de rendement jusqu'au départ à la retraite d'Emma, à ses 65 ans.

 

Bons conseils
Sachez qu'il est généralement préférable de réduire ou d'éliminer ses dettes avant d'épargner, surtout lorsque les taux d'intérêt sont élevés. Assurez-vous ensuite d'avoir un fonds d'urgence pour les imprévus, puis pensez à épargner pour vos projets et votre retraite. Finalement, revoyez régulièrement votre budget et rajustez votre montant d'épargne selon votre situation financière du moment.

Voici 5 conseils qui vous aideront à atteindre vos objectifs et à vous y retrouver facilement en matière de planification financière :

  1. Épargnez dès que possible! Le temps joue en votre faveur, n'en perdez pas trop! 
  2. N'épargnez pas à l'aveuglette. Planifiez votre épargne en fonction de votre situation et de vos objectifs. Si vous en sentez le besoin, n'hésitez pas à vous faire accompagner par une ou un spécialiste de la planification financière.
  3. Privilégiez les véhicules de placement enregistrés. À long terme, les placements effectués dans des véhicules de placement enregistrés, comme le REER et le CELI, rapportent plus en raison des avantages fiscaux qui leur sont associés. Il est important de choisir le véhicule (REER ou CELI) le plus approprié à votre situation fiscale. 
  4. Vérifiez ce à quoi vous aurez droit. Consultez régulièrement votre relevé de participation au RRQ dans Mon dossier et informez-vous sur ce régime pour en connaître les modalités.

    Si vous cotisez à un régime de retraite offert par votre employeur, assurez-vous que vous en connaissez bien les dispositions.

    Si vous participez à un régime de retraite du secteur public, informez-vous à son sujet auprès de votre employeur et n'oubliez pas de récupérer votre relevé de participation accessible dans Mon dossier. Ce relevé est une mine de renseignements pour vous!

  5. Tenez compte des différents risques financiers liés à la retraite! L'augmentation du coût de la vie, de la longévité et les autres risques financiers doivent être pris en considération lorsque vous planifiez votre retraite. Vous pourriez être à la retraite plus longtemps que vous ne le pensez et les prix des biens et services ne seront pas les mêmes qu'aujourd'hui. 
 

Bon conseil
Sachez que, si planifier votre retraite vous rebute ou vous effraie, des spécialistes sont là pour vous aider, tout particulièrement en cas de situation économique difficile. Rencontrez un planificateur financier ou une planificatrice financière pour vous guider dans vos finances.

La planification financière de la retraite ne s'arrête pas à l'approche de la retraite! Vous devez prévoir votre stratégie de décaissement. Celle-ci vous permettra de vous assurer de prendre les meilleures décisions concernant le retrait de vos investissements, l'âge auquel vous devriez demander votre rente de retraite du RRQ, votre pension du programme de la Sécurité à la vieillesse ou vos prestations provenant du régime de retraite offert par votre employeur. Vous pourrez ainsi maximiser vos revenus et réduire le plus possible les risques financiers liés à votre retraite. 

Planifiez le retrait de votre argent comme vous en avez planifié la phase d'accumulation; il s'agit d'une étape importante à ne pas négliger!

Si vous êtes à la retraite, il est important de revoir votre stratégie de décaissement en période de récession ou dans un contexte économique plus difficile.

 

Bon conseil
Évaluez votre situation financière régulièrement, surtout si votre situation personnelle change. Vous pourrez ainsi vous assurer de mettre votre projet de retraite ainsi que la planification de celui-ci au diapason de votre situation.

Combien recevrez-vous des régimes publics?

Les régimes de retraite publics des gouvernements du Canada (programme de la Sécurité de vieillesse) et du Québec (Régime de rentes du Québec) garantissent un revenu de base à la retraite. Les revenus offerts par les régimes publics varient en fonction de votre salaire, du nombre d'années au cours desquelles vous avez cotisé au régime et de l'âge auquel vous faites votre demande de rente. Ils devront être complétés par d'autres revenus provenant d'un régime de retraite offert par votre employeur et/ou de votre épargne personnelle. Ces revenus additionnels sont essentiels pour vous assurer un niveau de vie adéquat à la retraite.

L'exemple de Jean-François

  • Ancien employé d'une PME
  • Aucun régime de retraite offert par son employeur
  • Peu d'épargne personnelle accumulée
  • Jean-François a toujours pensé que les programmes gouvernementaux lui permettront de maintenir son niveau de vie et de faire des voyages à la retraite

Revenu à la fin de sa carrière

49 000 $

Revenu de retraite recommandé (70 %)

34 300 $

Revenus de retraite en provenance des programmes publics

17 270 $

  • 7 780 $ du programme de la Sécurité de la vieillesse (SV)
  • 9 490 $ du Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ)

Revenu manquant

17 030 $

Des outils pour vous aider

Le relevé de participation : votre meilleur allié!

Consultez votre relevé de participation au Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ) dans Mon dossier! Il s'agit d'un outil incontournable qui vous informe du montant de vos cotisations au RRQ et vous permet d'avoir une estimation du montant de votre rente selon l'âge auquel vous la demandez. C'est une mine d'information, et votre planificateur financier ou planificatrice financière en aura besoin pour faire le point sur votre situation.