A few clarifications on tax rule limits and buy‑backs

The information provided in this document only concerns the members of the six following plans:

  • The Government and Public Employees Retirement Plan (RREGOP);
  • The Pension Plan of Management Personnel (PPMP);
  • The Retirement Plan for Senior Officials (RPSO);
  • The Teachers' Pension Plan (TPP);
  • The Civil Service Superannuation Plan (CSSP);
  • The Pension Plan of Certain Teachers (PPCT).

Buy-back of service is a provision aimed at the recognition in a pension plan of periods of absences or service, upon payment of a cost established in particular according to the type of buy-back and the pension plan.

The main benefit of buying back service is an increase in your retirement pension. However, the tax assistance reform of retirement savings, effective since January 1, 1990, has limited the amount of that increase in accordance with the defined benefit limit. In some cases of buy-backs of service prior to 1990, the maximum is two-thirds of that limit.

The defined benefit limit is a maximum set by the Income Tax Act in regards to the amount of annual benefit that can be bought under a registered pension plan (RPP). However, it is important to note that the pension plans administered by us were exempt of the maximum imposed by that reform until 1992.

Since that date, any modifications made to a pension plan's provisions resulting in an increase of the amount of benefits must comply with that limit.

In addition to the type of buy-back and the years concerned, the date of receipt of the buy-back application is also used to determine the maximum amount of benefit allowed.

Maximum benefit in 2021 following a buy‑back

Service as casual employee

Years to buy backMaximum benefit per bought back yearExplanations
1973 to 1987$2163.70 [1] People who were not participating in a pension plan
People who did not participate in a pension plan have been able to invest more in an RRSP during the year to buy back. This is the reason why the amount of benefits acquired through this type of buy-back is limited.
1973 to 1987No limit People who were participating in a pension plan
People who participated in a pension plan have not been able to invest as much in an RRSP because of the maximum deductions allowed of $3500 for federal income tax and $5500 for provincial income tax. This is why the amount of benefits acquired through this type of buy-back is not limited.
Furthermore, the amount of benefit acquired through this type of buy-back was not modified after January 1992.

Absence without pay

Years to buy backMaximum benefit per bought back yearExplanations
All years until 31 December 1991No limitThe amount of benefit acquired through this type of buy-back has not been modified after 1991
All years from 1 January 1992$3245.56 [2]The amount of benefit acquired through this type of buy-back is limited in compliance with the tax rules.
  1. Note 1 The maximum amount of benefit corresponds to two-thirds of the defined benefit limit. The benefits of a person with a salary lower than $129 745 are not likely to be affected. Revenir à la référence
  2. Note 2 The maximum amount of benefit corresponds to the defined benefit limit. The benefits of a person with a salary lower than $183 838 ($190 915 for the RPSO) are not likely to be affected. Revenir à la référence
Top of page

Quelques précisions sur les limites fiscales relatives aux rachats

Les renseignements fournis dans ce document concernent uniquement les personnes qui participent aux six régimes suivants :

  • le Régime de retraite des employés du gouvernement et des organismes publics (RREGOP);
  • le Régime de retraite du personnel d'encadrement (RRPE);
  • le Régime de retraite de l'administration supérieure (RRAS);
  • le Régime de retraite des enseignants (RRE);
  • le Régime de retraite des fonctionnaires (RRF);
  • le Régime de retraite de certains enseignants (RRCE).

Le rachat de service est une disposition permettant de faire reconnaître, dans un régime de retraite, des périodes d'absence ou de service moyennant le paiement d'un coût établi notamment selon le type de rachat et le régime de retraite.

Le principal avantage que vous obtenez en rachetant du service est d'augmenter le montant de vos revenus à la retraite. Toutefois, la réforme de l'aide fiscale à l'épargne-retraite, en vigueur depuis le 1er janvier 1990, est venue limiter le montant de cette augmentation en fonction du plafond des prestations déterminées. Pour certains cas de rachat de service antérieur à 1990, la limite correspond aux deux tiers de ce plafond.

Le plafond des prestations déterminées est une limite fixée par la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu quant au montant de la prestation annuelle pouvant être acquise en vertu d'un régime de pension agréé (RPA). Il faut noter, cependant, que les régimes de retraite que nous administrons ont été soustraits jusqu'en 1992 à la limite imposée par cette réforme.

Après cette date, toute modification apportée aux dispositions d'un régime de retraite ayant pour effet d'augmenter le montant des prestations doit respecter ce plafond.

En plus du type de rachat et des années concernées par celui-ci, la date de réception de la demande de rachat sert aussi à déterminer le montant de prestation maximal qui s'applique.

Montant de prestation maximal qui s'applique en 2021 à la suite d'un rachat

Service comme personnel occasionnel

Années à racheterMontant de prestation maximal par année rachetéeExplications
1973 à 19872 163,70 $ [1]Personne qui ne participait pas à un régime de retraite
Les personnes qui ne participaient pas à un régime de retraite ont pu investir davantage dans un REER durant l'année à racheter. C'est pourquoi le montant de prestation acquis par ce type de rachat est limité.
1973 à 1987Aucune limitePersonne qui participait à un régime de retraite
Les personnes qui participaient à un régime de retraite ont pu moins investir dans un REER en raison des déductions fiscales maximales permises de 3 500 $ au fédéral et de 5 500 $ au provincial. C'est pourquoi il n'y a pas de limite à leur montant de prestation.
De plus, le montant de prestation acquis par ce type de rachat n'a pas été modifié après janvier 1992.

Absence sans salaire

Années à racheterMontant de prestation maximal par année rachetéeExplications
Toutes les années jusqu'au 31 décembre 1991Aucune limiteLe montant de prestation acquis par ce type de rachat n'a pas été modifié après 1991.
Toutes les années à compter du 1er janvier 19923 245,56 $ [2]Le montant de prestation acquis par ce type de rachat est limité conformément aux règles fiscales.
  1. Note 1 Le montant de prestation maximal correspond aux deux tiers du plafond des prestations déterminées. Le montant de prestation d'une personne ayant un salaire inférieur à 129 745 $ risque peu d'être touché. Revenir à la référence
  2. Note 2 Le montant de prestation maximal correspond au plafond des prestations déterminées. Le montant de prestation d'une personne ayant un salaire inférieur à 183 838 $ (190 915 $ au RRAS) risque peu d'être touché. Revenir à la référence
Haut de la page